Wedding Wednesday No Program – No Problem

Is it Wednesday again? I’m really enjoying Wedding Wednesday. I love being able to share this special day again.

DSC_0853

In case you’re new, what is Wedding Wednesday? Each Wednesday, I link up with Macy from To Travel and Beyond and Meg from Borrowed Heaven for Wedding Wednesday to share small details from our big day each Wednesday. I’ve already shared our guest favors, cookie bar, anniversary tradition, and guest book, so be sure to view these post too!

To Travel and Beyond

So let’s get started 🙂 While planning our wedding, we were very cautious of the budget and let me say, the budget was pretty tight. We both agreed, we didn’t want to cut anyone from the guess list or the open bar 🙂 We saved money in a few ways, but one in particular was using chalkboards for our programs. I did my research and by research I mean stalked Pinterest.  I actually pinned all wedding inspiration to a secret board. I used a secret board so it could be a day of surprises for my guest. (I love secret boards – they are so convenient when planning for an event or gift!)

Here’s my pin-spiration:

Pin-Aspiration from Eco-Love

Pin-spiration from Eco-Love

Doesn’t seem to hard, right? Plus, Ben already had a huge chalkboard I could use for the event, which helped us save more! I measured my space and mapped it all out. I used chalk markers. Chalk markers are a gift from God! You can erase so easily! I kept q-tips and a wet rag near. I printed the fonts I liked from Microsoft Word and copied them to tracing paper. I think it turned out great! Check out the project below.

DSC_6778

13573_10151543523883204_613714607_n

I also included a few small sandwich boards. The first was a welcome sign – this let me know they were in the right spot. One of my best friends did this project (Thanks Bay!) The other board gave a timeline for guess and was completed by my Mother-In-Law (Thanks Mel!)

IMG_1690

IMG_0440

If you’re thinking about this – you can totally do it! Plus, it was a fun place for your guest to take pictures. I wish there was a picture of the entrance the day of, but looks like it was overlooked 😦

To make the chalk board just grab some plywood and chalkboard paint. They even have chalk board paint in different colors! Imagine, that would be so fun!

IMG_1724

Have you completed a similar project? Let me know! I’d love to hear about it 🙂

ChalkBoardProgram-PinterestPin


Don’t Miss a Thing from Yellow Dog Pink Pig!

bloglovininstagramtwitter bird

26 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday No Program – No Problem

  1. Rachel G says:

    That turned out really pretty–we did print-it-yourself traditional programs, nothing creative. And then some of the songs ended up getting changed the day of due to technical difficulties…it would have been easier to just skip it, haha!

    Like

  2. legallysouthern says:

    We haven’t made any decisions on programs yet, but I love the idea of having the schedule so guests know they don’t need to rush to their seats for dinner as soon as they arrive etc.
    All of your boards turned out so well!!

    Like

  3. Macy says:

    I love it!! That is a huge chalkboard and it looked perfect, you did such a great job! We used chalkboards as well, unfortunately we had to use them as table numbers because the coordinator didn’t have the adorable table numbers we made, but it turned out pretty nice but not what I had planned.

    Like

  4. Nikki says:

    That is such a cute and creative idea. Looks super simple, thanks for the tip of using fonts you like and tracing them. My sister is going chalkboard crazy with the bridal shower so I’ll let her know about the suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erin says:

    We used a sign instead of a printed program too! I just couldn’t justify spending money on something that would be thrown away after the 20 minute ceremony.

    Like

  6. Karissa says:

    I love it! We have been thinking of using chalkboard signs for the programs! I never would have thought to print fonts I like and use tracing paper. What a great tip! Thank you for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rachel says:

    Love love love this. We did a chalkboard program as well, only we rented ours so they did all the work for us! It looked amazing and saved me from printing (and then throwing away) paper programs.

    Like

  8. jen says:

    Love your chalkboards!! I had a bunch of chalkbord signs for my wedding, but never thought to use one as the program. That is a great idea, especially since I’m sure everyone throws away the programs anyway. And I totally had a secret Pinterst board as well. Pinterest planned my entire wedding 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

